Three whole years and good news

Now who would have thought three years ago sat in a meeting room that coincidentally I can see from my current office (but is in a totally different building and a company so distant in culture that I might as well have been working on Mars back then – it was about as hospitable as well), that I would still be blogging?

I had marvellous news yesterday. After three and a half years of freelancing, I am now a permanent employee somewhere. This is very exciting.

I’ve wanted to find a work home since I came back from Tanzania because I realised I missed the stuff that often makes people want to freelance in the first place (people management, the odd bout of office politics). After all I never exactly made a conscious decision to become a freelancer, rather it was a financial necessity and a case of being very badly burned by making a duff choice in employer. But finding a home has been tricky: not a huge number of jobs out there (okay admittedly way more than there are at the moment, have you seen the back pages of PR Week? I haven’t seen a recruitment consultancy ad for weeks); people being highly suspicious of why I wanted to give up freelancing; and frankly some very unpleasant interviews with people who had the social graces of a rottweiler . (Clue, you don’t have to approach a prospective candidate like your fresh from the Guantanamo Bay School of Interview Techniques).

But now I have a proper, permanent job; a set of objectives just for me; the prospect of doing some training and learning more – hurrah on many levels.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogtastic, Matters work related, PR

Leave a Reply

