Little update on life

Now why haven’t I been blogging recently? There’s been some sort of blockage – bloggage perhaps? Things have been happening, my life has been on its usual undulating journey but I just haven’t felt able to write about any of it.

As usual, there are a lot of things going on with the slightly gnarly relationship I find myself in. I think this is the root of the problem. I am actually too scared to write about my life in case it turns out one way (and I look stupid) or another way (and everyone thinks I’m stupid).

My work contract in theory ends next Wednesday but (again, in theory) I’m going to be made a permanent member of staff (hurrah!). Except that there’s been some really annoying game playing and politics which means they may actually offer me a job that I don’t want. I can’t decide if they’re just being a tad too laid back about it or if there is a more sinister motivation (of the “in this current economic climate she’ll take any job we offer” variety; they seem to have failed to entertain the concept that if they don’t offer me the job I want, I may actually leave). I will find out this week. 

So on the horns of such dilemmas, my ability to write/speak about anything has disappeared. All conversations are following a similar pattern:

Featherduster: “So how are you?”

AN Other: “Fine, how are you?”

FD: (Breezily) “All good. So what have YOU been up to?”

ANO: (Fills in details of life…) “… and how about you?”

FD: “Oh same old. Same old, you know working, being busy. The usual. So do tell me about…”

And I then use every blocking, stalling and diversionary tactic to avoid discussing ANYTHING about me. I suspect my friends are finding me entirely poor company.

I am hoping my bloggage will clear up soon…in the mean time I may just have to fall back on some of those tried and tested blog-fillers, yes I’m off to find a good meme.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Matters domestic, Matters work related

One response to “Little update on life

  1. Erin in Canada

    Good luck with your bloggage, Featherduster! I’ll keep checking in… Hope you get the job you want, and that your gnarly relationship smooths out. You’re a great writer, so let’s hope you’re back up and blogging regularly, soon!

Leave a Reply

