Wild in the (aeroplane) aisles

Yes I have done it. Despite resisting and insisting that I couldn’t not go on holiday without The Beloved (or whatever his title might be at the moment), I have booked a week away in the sun. It’s not exactly what I had in mind when I booked my holiday at work (a fortnight, exotic, new and interesting things) but it is a break, it will be warm and (hopefully) relaxing and it’s not too scary. I had hoped to see my little sis but that’s not looking hugely likely.

On top of that I have decided to go to a friend’s 30th which is altogether politically more complicated. The friend is the wife of a friend of The Beloved. He went to their wedding, I didn’t. He tried to keep me away from her and then, when we met, we got on like a house on fire. She invited both of us to her 30th in Glasgow. He doesn’t want to go so I have decided “fuck it” (excuse my language but having a moment of liberation this evening) and asked her if it would be alright if I came because he was having a mental block about getting on a plane and being sociable. She said “yes” so tonight I have booked my flight and my hotel room. Hurrah! Feeling somewhat liberated. I have to remember I am the brave person who has been on holiday completely on my own (not fun as I may have mentioned), decided to throw caution to the wind and go to Africa to teach. Oh yes, I am that woman today!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Africa, Getting away from it all

Leave a Reply

