3RANT – 1st February

1. This really annoys me. It might sound pathetic in the grand scheme of things but it really annoys me when people treat language as unimportant. It’s just laziness. Apostrophes (and grammar in general) are remarkably easy to master if you just put the effort in. For goodness sake I managed to teach the basic premise of an apostrophe to my lovely African ladies and I am no teacher and they were hardly (with all due respect) the creme de la creme of students (excuse me whilst I come over all Miss Brodie).

2. The general craziness of Terminal 3 last night. It took 25 minutes to get through the tunnel at Heathrow and past the car park barriers (even then we crawled up the ramps, clutch control was required big time). I have  no idea if there should be a third runway at Heathrow (on the plus side it would stop them building it elsewhere and let’s face it, it probably has to be built; on the down side, the planes will fall out of the sky one day because there isn’t enough oil), but what I do know is that as a national airport is a disgrace and I feel slightly ashamed that it’s many people’s first impression of our country. (My parents are home safe and sound after two months though so this is a good thing).

3. Giving up smoking is bloody difficult. It’s not the nicotine, it’s the habit and when things go awry (as they have done big time this week), my (un)natural reaction is to have a fag. Grrr…this is annoying.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3RANT, Africa, Life, London, news

Leave a Reply

