A New Year meme

I know I know, uninspired blogging but I am sat in the office with very little to do and so my brain has gone to sleep somewhat. I found this on Synchronization of Us (through Technorati)

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Had every nook and cranny scanned, tested and re-scanned. End result? Alarmingly clean bill of health given what I do to myself but no clue about mystery illness. On a more positive note: began the germ of something that might change my life.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions as January is such a miserable month that any changes should – in my opinion – be avoided. I do have some general thoughts about 2009 which, on the whole, involve me being kinder to myself.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Not quite the baby fest that was 2007 but a few friends had new additions: so 2008 welcomed Cara, Charlie and Jonathan.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?

Only a couple this year: Ireland (twice) and Spain (Majorca). Definitely need more travel next year.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

A proper job that doesn’t “run out”, as lack of work and security really did for me over the summer this year. I am not a good unemployed person.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

None. Which is good. Given the rollercoaster events of the past few years, I think I was due some peace and quiet. Having said that unexplained illnesses, mistakes with medication, redundancy and subsequent soul-destroying trips to the “marvellous” Job Centre Plus have been rather trying; gaining a new god-daughter, re-connecting with old/new friends (mostly in the virtual world) and seeing my sister have been good things.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

(Hopefully) finding a home for my work life.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not keeping up the positivity.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Well it turned out that I wasn’t really ill but the whole emergency dash to the hospital peculiar post-viral whatsit was a bit of a scare.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I didn’t buy it but the Wii is an entirely fun addition to the household. Personally I’ve been rather abstemious on the purchasing front although my rather fabulous pink shoes were a high point (yes, they have 4.5 inch heels).

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

He-who-shall-not-be named for trying.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? 

He-who-shall-not-be named for messing up and not taking responsibility for his actions.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Where money usually goes: big companies and organisations who seem to require it so I can live my life legally and in relative comfort.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Someone passing their driving test.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Nothing stands out in particular. Crappy ad jingles from crappy daytime TV ads defined most of my summer.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

(a) happier or sadder? Happier and hoping to stay that way.

(b) thinner or fatter? Fatter (thanks to medication mix up) and hoping not to stay that way.

(c) richer or poorer? Marginally richer but that’s largely because I didn’t pay much into my pension which has to change if I’m not going to be a very cold and grumpy little old lady.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Sleep. I always wish I had more sleep.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With The Beloved. Just the two of us as the rest of my family were in far flung places and his family were transport-less.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

With several small babies.

22. What was your favourite TV programme?

Dexter, without a doubt one of the best things on TV.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No-one new but my hatred towards certain individuals has hardened somewhat.

24. What was the best book you read?

The Book Thief. Fabulous book.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I’m not Simon Cowell you know… Rediscovering Nothing Ever Matters by Metallica which I’m not even going to try to justify.

26. What did you want and get?

Stability. It’s a work in progress.

27. What did you want and not get?

Resolution. But, being optimistic, it’s also a work in progress.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

A toss up between Mamma Mia and Taken.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Had a lovely day with a massage and a facial and a scrumptious dinner at Acorn House. I am now at the age that it’s rude to ask.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being employed for the whole year.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Anything that fits following horrifying weight gain issue although discovering asos has been a bright point (see fabulous pink shoe purchase earlier).

32. What kept you sane?

Baths and Caroline.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

The usual bad boy inappropriate people, Colin Farrell probably gets top spot this year.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Obama’s probably the obvious choice. On the domestic front I think Vince Cable could be an interesting chap to watch/listen to.

35. Who did you miss?

My sister.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Jenny. 

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

Accept the things you cannot change

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. 

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “A New Year meme

  1. Pingback: Lowlifes enjoying the bad news « Featherduster

  2. Pingback: 2009 round up « Featherduster

Leave a Reply

