Party party

I’ve had a bit of a party-tastic weekend which has been fun although we seem to have worn an unfeasible amount of clothing which means my washing machine has been going all morning.

Picked up a hire car on Friday and I remembered that I really do like driving. However, this car had all the power of a Tonka toy and as much as I tried to put my foot down, it just wanted to pootle along with minimal road-handling. Oh well, it was fun to get behind the wheel after more than a year.

Rather illegally the Beloved showed me his newly learnt driving skills – and he is marvellously good. I’m really hoping he passes his test soon and we can get our own car.

So the first party was a rather belated birthday bash for my Dad who has decided to have an official birthday rather like some royal personage. I did point out though that if he wanted official birthday presents as well as real birthday presents he would have to get a year older. He has decided to stick to 65. It was a beautiful evening on Saturday so we could all sit outside at the table groaning with food – my mother over-caters on a national level (mind you so do I). I kept thinking “I’ve got a really early start tomorrow, do NOT drink too much Champagne.” What happened? I drank rather too much Champagne. And stayed up till one o’clock doing the clearing up. The alarm going off at 7.30 was an unpleasant shock. However the Beloved decided to take up all the grumpy tetchiness despite the fact he’d had at least two hours more sleep than me. Hmph!

The reason for our early start was a jaunt along the south coast to the christening of my goddaughter’s sister. Due to a lack of communication (which I suppose might be quite common when you have two children under three and another on the way), I hadn’t realised I was also to be godmother. So there we were sitting in the cheap seats when suddenly I had to go to the front. A tad embarrassing but very exciting. So I now have two delicious goddaughters. Hurrah!

As we were coming back last night I was extremely abstemious during the day but didn’t count on the fact that I was going to get a steaming sun-induced headache (not to mention a burnt shoulder or two – oops!). Plus the A23 on a Sunday evening after a hot, sunny day – well car park is probably a more accurate description. At least the tiny toy car had air-conditioning which meant I felt much better by the time we got back and happily tackled the unpacking and watering and those other dull domestic duties required after a weekend of fun, whilst the Beloved insisted he was far too tired and had to go to bed. I am quite concerned he may have narcolepsy (although thinking about the day it probably had more to do with the copious quantities of mojitos sloshing about the christening party!

But what a nice weekend – and all this sunshine is really helping (although could it rain during the night so that I don’t have to lug a watering can around the garden for about half an hour every evening?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

