Lazy blogging

I know memes are lazy blogs but sometimes they just help to fill those moments when you are stuck for inspiration. Feel free to borrow…

What were you doing 10 years ago?

Living in my mini flat (with an unfeasibly large garden) realising that we were going to run out of space VERY soon. Dropping very large hints about how my left hand could do with a diamond-like accessory (I really wasn’t very subtle and the Beloved was eventually worn down agreed with me at Christmas). I’d just been diagnosed with pernicious anaemia and realised I really had to get over my pathological fear of needles if I wasn’t going to freak out every 12 weeks (I have now got over the trauma of stuff being put in by needle although when stuff gets taken out I still have to talk myself down from the panic attack precipice).

Five things on your to-do list for today

  • Do my tax return (it has been on my to do list since April and I have promised myself I will crack it this week)
  • Pick up the dry cleaning
  • Organise my fridge as it’s currently very full of wine and juice and there is no room for my Ocado delivery of delicious food
  • Make an appointment with the chiropodist
  • Tackle the bank about a cheque which seems to have been eaten by their system

What are three of your bad habits?

  • My tendency to take out my insecurities on the Beloved
  • Only having two speeds – manic or comatose
  • Ranting about the news

What would you do if you were a billionaire?

  • Buy a house by the sea
  • Take the Beloved to Africa
  • Share much of it with Messrs Blahnik and Leboutin

What are some snacks you enjoy?

  • Bad crisps – Quavers, Wheat Crunchies and Wotsits
  • Bread (white, crusty) and butter
  • Wasabi Peas – the Russian roulette of snacks

What were the last five books you read?

  • Sepulchre by Kate Mosse (for book club)
  • A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon
  • Daily Meditations for Women Who Love Too Much by Robin Norwood (daily read)
  • The Cleftby Doris Lessing
  • Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende (got it through a book recycling scheme – not really my thing but an enjoyable read)

What are five jobs you have had?

  • PR person – I’ve possibly had this job too long
  • Sales person in various exciting retail establishments including The Body Shop, HMV and Waitrose Volunteer teacher
  • Watercress picker – not great on the hands or the back
  • Waitress – I was the worst waitress in the world and tactically resigned before I was fired

Five places that you have lived?

  • Romsey – this is where I was born and lived for the first 13 years of my life before my parents decided to undertake a major renovation project which took us to …
  • Lockerley where we started by living in a caravan which forced my sister and I to share a room – big mistake. This was a miserable place to grow up as it was miles from anywhere (especially my friends) with virtually no public transport. I was desperate to leave so I went to …
  • Birmingham where I spent three gloriously happy university years – mostly going to gigs, occasionally visiting a library and attending the odd lecture. My accommodation ranged from drab halls of residence to a ridiculously cheap house share (rent: £18 a week) to a mould invested hovel that my then boyfriend and I thought was a palace.
  • Streatham was my first home in proper London with the best house share in the world (despite the fact there were five of us living there with various guests, boyfriends and girlfriends, the fact there was only one toilet was never an issue!)
  • Various points along the southern part of the Northern Line. In 1996 the Beloved and I took our first tiny stop on the property ladder and we’ve been popping up and down the Northern Line ever since.
Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

