It’s not that I’m feeling particularly unlucky

But…

Laptop – irrepairable. They weren’t going to send it back to me so I could retrieve stuff from my hard drive (yes I know it should all be backed up but it isn’t so shoot me), I have however persuaded them that that would be completely unacceptable so they are returning the darned thing to me then I have to take it to the store and get a replacement (although currently thinking refund because I am mightily pissed off).

PDA – decided to reset itself. This means that I have virtually no contact details for anyone until I get my laptop back, can resync and then decide how to back that up (methinks pen and paper as I am increasingly technophobic).

Mobile – in for repairs so having to use an old handset which has about as much battery life as…well something with not much battery life. Also, in copying some of the numbers from my (currently being repaired) handset to the SIM, some gremlin got in and they haven’t transferred properly. Phone will be reset when I get it back so sync-ing my PDA and laptop becomes even more important.

Finally – well I hope this is finally because I’m not entirely sure how muh more I can take – my car looks as though it is a right off. This is because last night my lovely little soft top car was used as a stopping device by a drunk, banned driver who had stolen a car in Streatham and was being pursued by the police. I phoned the insurance people this morning and she was completely flummoxed by the story. I must admit I was very confused by it all at the time. The noise of the crash woke me up but I didn’t really know what was going on and just thought my car alarm had decided to go off. I had to look about three times (it was 3.10am) to work out what was going on: why my car was at least 6 inches up on the pavement; why it looked like someone had parked a car in the side of my little jalopy; and why there was a police car parked sideways into another car. In a way thank goodness it was a police chase because at least they were there and I wasn’t tempted to go down and get myself into a potentially dangerous situation with a drunk car thief (apparently he’s also banned until 2008 and a well-known drug addict – so an all-round nice chap!). They were very nice and told me to go and have a cup of tea and they’d come and see me when back up arrived to whisk nasty criminal man away. A 12 year old policewoman who was about 4 foot 6 came in and took my details and then they all said I should go to bed (one thing that did strike me was that there were about 8 police people dealing with this incident which was slightly surprising considering I thought they were all supposed to be finding car bombs). Well you try going to bed and going to sleep when you have no idea exactly what the damage is to your car (no way of telling at this point because of all the notes they had to make – probably made doubly long because the pursuing police car had hit a car on the other side of the road). I know it’s only a piece of metal but I am rather attached to it. Eventually (about 5am) the recovery vehicle came and removed the stolen car which was rather embedded in my car. Had another nice chat with the police: they borrowed my dustpan and brush to remove the rather enormous amount of glass on the road; they also told me I couldn’t drive the car as two of the tyres were now illegal and there’s a chance the front axel has gone. This is not to mention the horrible damage to the bodywork (the passenger door looks like it’s been attacked with a very large can opener). As it’s old it’s probably not going to survive although I live in hope. A slightly irksome point is that I spent £250 getting it serviced on Thursday – the irony.

I’m lucky in that I don’t use my car every day and there is public transport but it’s a bugger for those journeys which are much easier by car than tube (my house to Knightsbridge which is a regular Monday night trip; my house to Tulse Hill which is a regular Thursday night trip; shopping; taking my wretched laptop back when its eventually returned; going to visit my parents). It’s also been really handy with my bad ankle/foot. Plus of course the monsoon like weather means I am going to get wet.

They say things come in threes – I’m really hoping this has just been a blip rather than having to work myself up to another three.

BUGGER!!

1 Comment

Filed under Life, London, Weather obsessive

One response to “It’s not that I’m feeling particularly unlucky

  1. You’re down, down, down on luck. everything around you seems to be crumbling on you, weighing on you or at lease inconveniencing you. BUT this is the worst that can happen, so it’ll only be better from now on. =)

Leave a Reply

