Weekend

I’ve had a very fun weekend: catching up with old friends; spending time with different friends and buying white trousers! Okay to the final and most shallow point first. I don’t do white. White makes you look fat. White is completely impractical. White is totally ridiculous in London. However, white trousers will look very cool on my planned sojourn to the south of France; white trousers will look most funky us my new size tiny coat; these trousers are themselves size tiny. So my thought processes were along the lines of enjoy it while you can (the fat monster will undoubtedly return).

I caught up with my old housemate. After we’d rather shockingly realised that we stopped living together 11 years ago and I haven’t seen her for the best part of three years, we had a really cool time. She’s living in Hong Kong at the moment so (hopefully) I’m planning to go to see her. The major shock was how well we know each other. You tend to forget that when you live with someone you do get to know their deepest darkest selves and it’s a complete revelation that someone who knows me that well still likes me (yes, I still have much work to do in that department). 

Today I went to Brands Hatch to see the A1 race (poor relation to F1 but, in some ways, really much cooler, not to mention a whole lot cheaper). I went with an old work colleague who is a really cool friend but never really spent that much time with her. Anway, it was all a bit of a last minute decision and we had a fab time. I even managed to keep it all together in the face of her and her boyfriend who (after about 15 years or something equally ridiculous) are really quite in love. My photos are crap but that’s because:

  1. grand prix cars are very fast
  2. there need to be some fences
  3. my phone is reasonable as a communications device but not so hot as a camera
  4. I’m not that brilliant at taking photos 

sp_a0009.jpg 
Great day though – perhaps caught a touch too much sun as I’ve noticed the freckles are looking quite hysterical.

As non-related asides:

My Mum saw the Arctic Monkeys on the train on Friday. My Mum now thinks she is very cool.

My Mum and Dad’s next door neighbour’s son (follow closely it’s complicated) is now in the album charts. Only number 27 at the moment but being hailed as “the next big thing” so go and buy the Switches album. My Mum continues to think she is the coolest 62 year old in the world (okay the UK, perhaps England, probably Hampshire, more than likely just Lockerley – but she was 62 last week and has a basic grasp of some areas of pop culture so she is really quite groovy).

2 Comments

Filed under Getting away from it all, Life, London, Recovery

2 responses to “Weekend

  1. Pingback: 100th post « Featherduster

  2. Pingback: Too much time « Featherduster

Leave a Reply

