Recovery

I know, I don’t blog for ages and then get the bug.

The main reason I haven’t been blogging – apart from the “don’t blog” requests which I seem to have squared now – is that I am currently participating in a recovery programme which is taking up much of my time. I never thought I’d end up in “recovery” and spent a rather endless amount of time trying not to admit that I had a real problem. After all, a lot of relationships end, a lot of people get hurt, a lot of people get upset and occasionally do stupid things. Eventually all of them seem to move on and get on with life.

The truth is I got stuck. Stuck in an endless spiral of not being able to do anything, cope with anything, think about anything. Repeating the same behaviour over and over again and expecting to get different results is a foolish enterprise – I would not recommend it.

So into recovery I went and – to be honest – it is helping. It is really tough and I find myself doing stuff I really don’t want to do, but perhaps it will lead to a better frame of mind – let’s face it, it couldn’t get much worse.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Recovery

2 responses to “Recovery

  1. Just wanted to drop you a note to say, “Welcome to recovery.” I’ve been clean and sober myself for 14 years now, one day at a time. When I started out on this journey, it was a huge milestone to get 14 consecutive days in a row without a drink or drug. It’s been worth every minute of change. Wishing you much success!

  2. Thanks for your support. I’m climbing the walls wanting to give in to old behaviour today so your message was very timely.

Leave a Reply

